eBook EPUB/PDF/PRC miễn phí thể loại “Fiction - Literature”

We Are Not Ourselves
We Are Not Ourselves SHORTLISTED FOR THE JAMES TAIT BLACK PRIZE LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD NOMINATED FOR THE FOLIO PRIZE NAMED A NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMESA stunning, heartbreaking debut – ‘We Are Not Ourselves’ is both the intimate story of a family and an epic of the American Century.Eileen Leary wants more. Raised in a downtrodden area of new York by hard-drinking, Irish immigrant parents, she dreams of another life: a better job, a bigger house, more respectable friends, a happy family. When she meets Ed Leary, a brilliant young scientist, she thinks she’s found the perfect partner to pursue and share her American Dream with. An indefatigable love enters Eileen’s life – but so too does a pervasive darkness and a loss that will last a lifetime.
Percy Jackson And The Greek Heroes – Paperback
Percy Jackson And The Greek Heroes If you like poisonings, betrayals, mutilations, murders and flesh-eating farmyard animals, keep reading...In this gripping follow-up to Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods, demigod Percy Jackson tells the stories of twelve of the original Greek heroes in all their gory, bloodthirsty glory.Want to know who cut off Medusa′s head? Which hero was raised by a she-bear? Who tamed Pegasus, the winged horse? Percy has all the answers . . .Rick Riordan is an award-winning writer. He lives in Boston with his wife and two sons. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Rick′s first novel featuring the heroic young demigod, was the overall winner of the Red House Children′s Book Award in 2006 and is now a blockbuster film franchise, starring Logan Lerman.
Precocious
Precocious Fiona Palmer is (un)happily married when a chance meeting with her former teacher plunges her headlong into an affair.Intercut with the realities of their adult relationship, Fiona remembers first meeting the enigmatic Henry Morgan as a precocious and lonely fourteen-year-old. Her schoolgirl crush developed into an intense relationship, but it was always one which she controlled.Or did she?
The 5th Wave: The Infinite Sea (Book 2)
The 5th Wave: The Infinite Sea (Book 2) The Infinite Sea is the second book in the phenomenal and bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner* *The 5th WAVE is now a major film by Sony Pictures, starring Chloe Grace Moretz* ′Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn′t turn the pages fast enough′ The New York Times How do you rid the earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity. Cassie Sullivan and her companions lived through the Others′ four waves of destruction. Now, with the human race nearly exterminated and the 5th Wave rolling across the landscape, they face a choice: brace for winter and hope for Evan Walker′s return, or set out in search of other survivors before the enemy closes in. Because the next attack is more than possible - it′s inevitable.No one can anticipate the depths to which the Others will sink - nor the heights to which humanity will rise . . .
Fallen
Fallen Some angels are destined to fall.Instant. Intense. Weirdly familiar…The moment Luce looks at Daniel she knows she has never felt like this before. Except she can′t shake the feeling that she has… and with him - a boy she doesn′t remember ever setting eyes on.Will her attempt to find out why enlighten her - or destroy her?Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic. Fallen is a thrilling story about forbidden love.
Wuthering Heights
Wuthering Heights Wuthering Heights is the tale of two families both joined and riven by love and hate. Cathy is a beautiful and wilful young woman torn between her soft-hearted husband and Heathcliff, the passionate and resentful man who has loved her since childhood. The power of their bond creates a maelstrom of cruelty and violence which will leave one of them dead and cast a shadow over the lives of their children. Emily Brontë′s novel is a stunningly original and shocking exploration of obsessive passion
According to Yes
According to Yes The Foreign Land of the Very Wealthy - otherwise known as Manhattan′s Upper East Side - has its own rigid code of behaviour. It′s a code strictly adhered to by the Wilder-Bingham family.Emotional displays - unacceptable.Unruly behaviour - definitely not welcome.Fun - no thanks.This is Glenn Wilder-Bingham′s kingdom. A beautifully displayed impeccably edited fortress of restraint.So when Rosie Kitto, an eccentric thirty-eight-year-old primary school teacher from England, bounces into their lives with a secret sorrow and a heart as big as the city, nobody realises that she hasn′t read the rule book.For the Wilder-Bingham family, whose lives begin to unravel thread by thread, the consequences are explosive. Because after a lifetime of saying no, what happens when everyone starts saying . . . yes?
Wolf Hall [TV Tie-In Edition] (Re-Issue)
Wolf Hall [TV Tie-In Edition] (Re-Issue) The greatest literary sensation of recent times – and now the inspiration for a major BBC series, starring Mark Rylance and Damian Lewis and directed by Peter Kosminsky.In this staggeringly brilliant novel, Hilary Mantel brings the opulent, brutal world of the Tudors to bloody, glittering life. It is the backdrop to the rise and rise of Thomas Cromwell: lowborn boy, charmer, bully, master of deadly intrigue and, finally, most powerful of Henry VIII’s courtiers.Both winners of the Man Booker Prize and already hugely successful stage plays, WOLF HALL and its sequel BRING UP THE BODIES have now been transformed into a BBC television series starring Mark Rylance and Damian Lewis, bringing history to life for a whole new audience.
Fishbowl – Paperback
Fishbowl Even a goldfish can dream of adventure… From his enviable view from a balcony on the 27th floor of an apartment block, Ian the Goldfish has frequent – if fleeting – desires for a more exciting life. Until one day, a series of unfortunate events give him an opportunity to escape… Our story begins, however, with the human inhabitants of Ian’s building. There is the handsome student, his girlfriend, and his mistress; an agoraphobic sex worker, the invisible caretaker; the pregnant woman on bed rest; and the home-schooled boy, Herman, who thinks he can travel through time.  And as Ian tumbles perilously downwards, he will witness all their lives, loves, triumphs and disasters… A truly original, philosophically joyful and charming novel with the unlikeliest of heroes. This is Tales of the City as seen by a goldfish.
The Fall: A Novel (Dismas Hardy)
The Fall: A Novel (Dismas Hardy) From New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart, The Fall is a riveting novel of legal suspense featuring lawyer Dismas Hardy and his daughter Rebecca who become involved in the case of a pretty inner-city girl who plunges to her death from an overpass into traffic below. But did she fall...or was she pushed? Late one night, a seventeen-year-old African American foster child Tanya Morgan falls from the overpass above San Francisco’s Stockton tunnel, landing on the windshield of a car driving on the street below. She is killed instantly. But did she fall...or was she pushed? Homicide has recently been accused of dragging its feet in identifying suspects in cases where the victims are African American so the case becomes front-page news by the end of the investigation’s first day. Rushing to produce a convictable suspect, inspectors focus their attention on a naive and idealistic young man named Greg Treadway. Greg is a middle school teacher with the Teach for America program and a volunteer as a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) for foster children, where his client is Tanya’s twin brother Shawn. At first, the only thing connecting him to Tanya’s death is the fact that they shared a meal earlier that night. But soon enough, elements of that story seem to fall apart...and lawyer Dismas Hardy’s daughter Rebecca finds herself drawn into the defense of young man who is perhaps not all that he had originally appeared to be. With signature suspense and intricate plotting, John Lescroart′s newest novel puts Dismas and his only daughter in the middle of one of his most complex and thrilling cases yet.
The Goldfinch
The Goldfinch Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, disturbed by schoolmates who don′t know how to talk to him, and tormented above all by his longing for his mother, he clings to the one thing that reminds him of her: a small, mysteriously captivating painting that ultimately draws Theo into the underworld of art. As an adult, Theo moves silkily between the drawing rooms of the rich and the dusty labyrinth of an antiques store where he works. He is alienated and in love--and at the center of a narrowing, ever more dangerous circle. The Goldfinch is a mesmerizing, stay-up-all-night and tell-all-your-friends triumph, an old-fashioned story of loss and obsession, survival and self-invention, and the ruthless machinations of fate.
The Little Red Chairs
The Little Red Chairs A fiercely beautiful novel about one woman′s struggle to reclaim a life shattered by betrayal, from one of the greatest storytellers of our time. One night, in the dead of winter, a mysterious stranger arrives in the small Irish town of Cloonoila. Broodingly handsome, worldly, and charismatic, Dr. Vladimir Dragan is a poet, a self-proclaimed holistic healer, and a welcome disruption to the monotony of village life. Before long, the beautiful black-haired Fidelma McBride falls under his spell and, defying the shackles of wedlock and convention, turns to him to cure her of her deepest pains. Then, one morning, the illusion is abruptly shattered. While en route to pay tribute at Yeats′s grave, Dr. Vlad is arrested and revealed to be a notorious war criminal and mass murderer. The Cloonoila community is devastated by this revelation, and no one more than Fidelma, who is made to pay for her deviance and desire. In disgrace and utterly alone, she embarks on a journey that will bring both profound hardship and, ultimately, the prospect of redemption. Moving from Ireland to London and then to The Hague, THE LITTLE RED CHAIRS is Edna O′Brien′s first novel in ten years -- a vivid and unflinching exploration of humanity′s capacity for evil and artifice as well as the bravest kind of love.